Labor Day Reflections


talia_running_hamster_wheel_800_clr_20952.pngBest wishes for a Happy Labor Day, especially to all those laborers who are NOT on holiday this weekend.  

Our concept of work seems to have changed significantly over the years.  I know fewer folks who are in a standard 9 To 5 type of job and more who are employed in increasingly 24/7 roles.  This probably has to do some with the infection of personal portable technology that both fascinates and aggravates many of us on a regular basis, but  I do not think that is all.

We seem consumed by work, to a much larger degree than folks in other cultures.  If our country was doing really well in most or many societal indicators, this would be a confirmation of our strong work ethic.  However, we are not number one or even highly ranked in many cases … healthcare accessibility remains an issue, our country is torn and conflicted over many social and economic questions, and I sense a general malaise.

Not being pessimistic, but I am a realist … we are working hard, but do not seem to have much to show for it, other than trinkets (electronic gadgets, shiny cars, overpriced houses, and temporarily satisfying vacations and parties).  I am talking about real emotional fulfillment, which seems unreachable for some.

I am also not providing any links to statistical support or learned papers on the issue.   These are just my perceptions and intuition based on living, working., and paying attention.

So with that said, and while many of us barbecue and relax by the pool sipping our ice-cold beers … why not take a moment or two to consider what and why we labor.

Why do we do whatever it is we do to earn our living?

What do we derive from doing this, aside from a paycheck?

What else might we possibly get from our labors?

NOTE:  Regular readers may have noticed a distinct lack of activity on this blog for the past year or so.  That is because I agreed to work with my wife in real estate … and selling houses is a “More Than Full-Time” job.   While it has ups and downs like any job, I have found being self-employed takes on a whole new meaning in this industry.

I will have more to say on the above and other work-related issues in future posts, which I aim to make more regularly.

Still chugging along doggedly in the Heartland …

John