What’s So Darned Funny Here . . . ?


Strip by Nina Paley who is one of the most creative people I’ve run across on the Web.  See more of “Mimi and Eunice” here.

As a sometimes verbose user of words to get my points across, I am in awe of those who use simple images to do the same thing . . . often much more easily and clearly.  Nina’s style is clear above:  a three-panel strip which has a set-up, a rejoinder, and a kick (my terms, not a professional artist’s description).

I enjoy a thoughtful and humorous lesson in life, politics, relationships, economics, philosophy, or whatever these simple pictures are helping me understand.

The questions today are simple: 

What do you think the message is in this strip?

What makes this an impacting message?

Nina publishes “Mimi and Eunice” under a copyleft license, because she believes that Copying is an act of love”.    We’ll be talking lots more about this concept of sharing freely in the future.

Some thoughts to gnaw on in the meanwhile . . .

Is this the future?    Should this be the future?      

How will we act differently in this future?

Smiling gently at some toons in the summertime heat in the Heartland . . .

John