Teaching is as Teaching Does . . .


“The mediocre teacher tells. The good teacher explains. The superior teacher demonstrates. The great teacher inspires.”  ~ William Arthur Ward

I love this quote:)

BACKGROUND

I entered college as a Social Science Education major (translation:  I was going to teach high school history).

That decision came from my frustrated high school guidance counselor as he helped me fill out my college application.

What do you want to major in?”      “I dunno.”

                     (insert long unproductive discussion)

Well, what’s your favorite subject now?”     History, I guess, or maybe Civics.”

Then you want to major in Social Science.”     “Oh, Okay.”

So much for thoughtful, detailed career planning .  .  .

REFLECTION

Everyone is a teacher.  The levels of competency described in the quote apply to all roles, but especially to leadership and management roles.

Try this ~ Think of people who you have worked for either now or in the past.   Delete anyone who worked against your development, throw them out. They are not competent.  They taught you some things, but they are not the focus of this reflection.

Now group your choices into the following four functional categories.  If you are like me, you’ll have one or two in each group.

TELLERS:  “Do it this way.”   

They taught me to follow directions and to listen.

EXPLAINERS:   “Here is the way to do this.”      

They taught me to visualize and see processes.

MODELERS:  “Let me show you how I do it.”    

They taught me to be consistent and authentic.

INSPIRERS:  “You can do this.”    

They taught me to do without them.

As we are taught, so we in turn teach . . .

Whether I have the title of “teacher” or some other label, my life has centered around sharing knowledge, demonstrating and modeling abilities, and encouraging others.   If you think about your own experiences, , you may discover the same thing.  Even though we are not in a classroom or think of ourselves as teachers, we are.

So, Teacher, how have you passed on what you have been taught?

Thinking fondly about past and present teachers in the Heartland . . .

John