Leadership Kick …


leadership-kick-in-ass-book-cover-01-2017-pngBill Treasurer is (not to be too cute about it) a real treasure …

Bill combines a real gift for writing engaging content with a sharp eye to what really works in leadership.  He is modest, but brings a ton of knowledge and experience to the issues around leading self and leading others.

He also has a distinctly altruistic side to his business, which you will learn about if you click on his name above – it’s worth learning a little more about his personal life and what drives him.

If you have read his earlier books, such as Leaders Open Doors, you already know this. 

If you have not yet met Mr. Treasurer, dip your toes in the water with the guest post below, then check out a sample chapter from Bill’s new book A Leadership Kick In The Ass … and then get ready to dive deep into the warm waters of his writing:

Leadership is about R.E.S.P.E.C.T. (from video script)

I’m a practitioner of leadership development. Though I’ve been doing this for over two decades, I don’t like calling myself a leadership “expert.” Makes me seem too highbrow. Rather, I think of myself as a leadership plumber. I show up to my client’s job sites every day, roll up my sleeves, and remove whatever hairballs may be mucking up their system. The work ain’t always pretty!

For the last dozen years, most of my clients have been unionized construction companies based in Chicago. They don’t like a bunch of leadership frou-frou. They want stuff that works.

One thing I’ve learned from them is how important the concept of respect is to leadership. If a leader relies only on the authority of his or her position or seniority, they’ll chew him or her up and spit them out.

Aretha Franklin sums up what most people want from their leaders when she says, “All I’m asking for is a little RESPECT.”

Too many leaders, unfortunately, are disrespectful. They show up late for meetings, they interrupt subordinates, and they sometimes skirt the very rules that they expect others to abide by.

They pay more attention to whether they’re being disrespected than whether they’re being respectful.

The thing is, respect isn’t something you’re automatically granted just because your nameplate says “leader.” Respect has to be earned, and re-earned, in every interaction and situation.

The good news is, you already know what it’s like to be fully respected. Certainly there’s someone in your life who has respected you. Chances are they are someone who listened to you deeply, valued your input and ideas, and treated you like you matter. They treated you right. And when you treat others right, people will respect you too.

Here’s how to know if you’re the kind of leader that people will respect: you respect others equally as much as you respect yourself.

To learn more tips for how to become a respectful leader, download a sample chapter from my new book, A Leadership Kick in the Ass, at http://CourageBuilding.com/Kickass.

Sock it to me, sock it to me, sock it to me, sock it to me…

Leave a Reply

