Doing X Well and Failing …


Thumbs Up - Morguefile.com.pngI have often been complimented on how well I do X….

Being complimented makes me feel good … appreciated, valued, competent, and so forth.  This makes me do X more and better, because I like the praise and attention that comes my way.

 I often receive requests (or sometimes demands) from other people to do X for them.How I do X is shared and talked about at gatherings.   I become known to many as “The X Guy” or even, unfortunately, “The X Meister“.  People tell me how dependent they are on me doing that X thing regularly for them.

My fame for doing X well spreads far and wide, resulting in fascinating opportunities and offers to do X for someone else who will pay me more and shower me with glittery incentives … all just to do X.

Problem is that I do not particularly enjoy doing X … I like the praise, but not the process to earn the praise.

Yes, my skill is right up there.  I am of a type who tries to do everything well, whatever that something might be.   I usually perform at an acceptable or commendable level.

If you replace my “X” with some skill you do well, some of this may sound familiar to you too.   Since I am also a reflective type, I have pondered the above and discovered some things about doing something well:

Doing a thing well doesn’t mean you SHOULD be doing it … we fall into a trap of thinking our competencies are our reason for being.  They aren’t …

Doing a thing well doesn’t mean only you CAN do it … we also sometimes falsely perceive ourselves as uniquely qualified above all others.

Doing a thing well doesn’t mean you can do other things well … we may unjustifiably believe that we are equally competent in another area, related or not.

If you do something well, that’s nice and it make earn you a good living or at least give you a sense of being needed.  However, if the following is also true about something you do well, then you just might have a calling:

You lose all track of time while doing it …

You do  not have to “rest up” after doing it …

You like doing it without a detailed reason why  …

You would do it even if nobody saw you doing it …

Doing it is a reason to get out of bed in the morning … with a smile on your face …

Don’t fall into the trap of believing that just doing something well means you should be doing it.  Competency is nice, but purpose is better … much better.

Trying to remember that praise does not equate to purpose in the Heartland …

John

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Doing X Well and Failing …

  1. Pingback: Doing X Well and Failing … | #OdinWallace

Comments are closed.