Some Thoughts On Social Media …


Facebook Logo 2016 - Wikipedia Public Domain 

Yes, I have been “wasting time” on social media …

Just visited Facebook as part of my daily social media ritual, which includes wishing a happy birthday to people with whom I have connected over the years.  This simple gesture takes a few seconds for each one and I enjoy a brief reminder of how this person has affected my life.

Today was unusually plentiful in this regard, at least for me – here’s a quick run-down of who I was thinking about a little while ago:

One of my earliest friends from my childhood … and an early adolescent crush …

Three people who share social media work … but whom I have never met, since they live in two other states and one other country …

Two former co-workers from two different companies …

Three ministers or religious workers … one a former student at a college where I worked, another who guides an online call discernment group I participated in once upon a time, and the last who is an active leader around social justice issues through our shared denomination and current town …

So that was today’s larger than usual bu representative roundup, which still does not include every aspect of my life that my varied connections symbolize.

Facebook Profile Page - John E. SmithOn a daily basis, I  have the opportunity to reconnect, even if just for a moment, with people from every age and phase of my existence, to remember people who have touched my life throughout the journey in one way or another.

My connections are not all equal, of course.  Some have a much greater emotional load than other, more casual relationships, but they all represent something that has been or is in me. 

Could I live without the social connections afforded me by our current technology?

Sure …

However, I maintain that my life today is richer because I have the technical ability and choose to spend the time to connect and reconnect with others.

So how great is that?:)

By the way, if we are not already connected on Facebook or LinkedIn, why aren’t we?

After all, that what social media is all about.

Feeling very appreciative of my social media network and what it means to me in the Heartland ….

John

Image:  Facebook Logo in the Public Domain – Wikipedia

                Screenshot via Me:)

