Writing to the Mirror …


WIN_20151215_09_35_11_ProYou’ve probably heard the saying “Preaching to the Choir” and understand that this means your audience is friendly, receptive, and probably already in step with whatever you are selling.

By the way, we all sell something every single day, especially ourselves …

A similar quotation, not as well-known, is “Writing to the Mirror“.  You don’t know this one because I just created it.  Also, do not confuse it with “Mirror Writing“, which is a whole different thing.  

Believe me, I Googled this phrase and came up with nada …

I almost always write to the mirror, which simply means that many of my blog posts are addressed directly to myself.  Today’s entry is a prime example of me “Writing to the Mirror“.

Tom Rath wrote Strengths Finder 2.0 based on the work of Don Clifton in 2007 and this title is widely considered one of the seminal titles in the Strengths Movement.  The basic ideas in this and other Strengths writing is simple:

Play to your strengths, rather than spend time trying to fix your weaknesses …

Here’s a real-life example of how this might work:

THE CONTEXT:  What is happening now?

I learn that one of my strengths is a thing called Input.  Input is fully captured by these phrases:  “You collect things … you don’t really feel comfortable throwing anything away … you keep acquiring and compiling and filing stuff away.” (Rath, p. 125).

My favorite phrase is “I might need this someday“, which is very funny to those who I have worked with on personal productivity and data organization, since I target that phrase unmercifully when it comes out of someone else’s mouth.

So this explains the multiple bookshelves crammed full, the many boxes and containers of widely diverse piles of stuff in closets, drawers, bins and stacks, and the growing storage capacity of my computer, tablet, and smart phone, not to mention all the online storage available to me through various sources.

The world is at my fingertips, if I can only remember where I stored it.

GOOD POINTS:  What benefits do I enjoy from all this?

I feel more confident because I have lots of information available.

I can respond to questions on a variety of topics relatively quickly.

I have some knowledge about many different things

CHANGE POINTS:  What would I like to change?

I have too much stuff to easily organize it.

I spend lots of time collecting stuff, to which I never again refer.

All the varied stimuli keep my actions scattered .. I cannot focus.

BOTTOM LINE:  What can I do about this NOW?

Stop collecting and start using stuff.

Delete or throw away stuff I am not confident I WILL use.

Create a new daily routine that reduces or eliminates collecting and maximizes using what I already have.

This is how self-coaching starts the process … ask the right questions and think about your responses.  Patterns become evident and possible solutions arise.  Of course, I have simplified the coaching process in this example.

NowI just have to do it … for that, I may  need some external support.  This mirror stuff only goes so far.

Looking at the Man in the Mirror to make some big changes in the Heartland ….

John

 

 

 

