“Good Morning, Dave” ….


US Bank Login - Boob

WELCOME TO MY WEEKEND …

On an originally pretty early Spring Saturday morning, I was just trying to keep up with my financial responsibilities and ensure that the bills were paid on time and nothing nefarious was happening to my bank accounts … you know, being a responsible citizen and adult.

Right off the bat, this supposedly helpful application is calling me a name… being insulted by a collection of 1’s and 0’s is not how I imagined my morning would go.

Root Cause analysis time – I see three possibilities here:

I CHOSE POORLY WHEN SETTING UP THE USER NAME …

Very possible, but this option involves the idea of my personal responsibility.  

The possibility  that my own actions or inactions are to blame, because I just did not think ahead or consider this possibility makes me seem inept and foolish.  

Since this is not good for me – UNACCEPTABLE.

THIS COLLECTION OF ELECTRONIC DATA BYTES IS BAITING ME …

Again, very possible, and this feeds into my tendency to see conspiracy everywhere.  Another plus to this theory is that I have no personal responsibility whatsoever in this matter.  It’s that damned machine, or faulty programming, or a malevolent digital entity toying with us humans.

This one has promise – definite MAYBE ACCEPTABLE.

GOD IS SUBTLY SENDING ME A MESSAGE …

Possible and maybe likely, but not an attractive option, for two reasons.  

First, I do not believe God works this way.

Second, I do not care for the implication, if it turns out that He does.

I would prefer to keep up the illusion that God thinks I am pretty cool – so, UNACCEPTABLE.

GIven my penchant for avoiding personal responsibility, the second option is most logical AND the most personally palatable … 

With tongue firmly in cheek, trying to make my world seem okay again in the Heartland ….

John

Image source:  Me

Humor source:  Me

