What We Seem …


Very Few of Us - morguefile

For all our talk of authenticity and genuiness as positive and desired traits, we often fall rather short of being truly transparent and open.

... and this is not necessarily a bad thing.

While openness creates strong relationships and enhances leadership, we might want to think a little before we become completely open.

I don’t know about you, but I know parts of me that I will never knowingly or willingly share with anyone else, regardless of the relationship or situation.  My thoughts are not consistently charitable or kind, my inclinations can be more emotion-driven than is good for me, and I do not always act in my own best interests … and that’s just the stuff I WILL share.

Caveat:  You may be thinking right now “Why doesn’t he get some help for these afflictions?”, which is a reasonable question to ask, but more complex to answer than you expect.

One of my favorite Tolkien sayings is “All who wander are not lost“.   In the same way, all who keep things private are not hiding something.   

I believe that we must deal with some things completely on our own, without the help of others.    In a paradoxical twist, I also believe this is MOST doable when we are already in the habit of seeking regular help for what ails us cognitively, emotionally, and physically.

Gist of this Post:  

Reflect on what you share and what you keep within yourself …

Adjust what needs adjusting for a healthy balance …

Deal with what you need to, either with another or alone …

By the way, the Tolkien line quoted above is from a fascinating poem in the The Lord of the Rings.  Here’s the complete poem, of which the first line is the title:

All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.
From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.[1]

Setting out my Frodo and Company Trilogy DVDs for the chilly evening ahead in the Heartland ….

John

 

2 thoughts on “What We Seem …

Comments are closed.