Getting Rich … Guaranteed


Snake Oil - Wikipedia

I DO NOT BUY THIS … LITERALLY OR FIGURATIVELY …

I seem to be seeing an increasing number of “come-on” pitches by coaches and others these day, all of which promise some version of learning the secret to becoming rich …

My intellectual radar starts pinging off the wall when anyone promises me that I will become slimmer, younger, stronger, more successful, or rich, which should be a common reaction from anyone who uses their critical thinking skills in the everyday world … in other words, everyone every blessed moment of every day.

I get it that some people think they can make money from some other people by promising those other people that a short seminar or webinar, combined with buying and reading the first person’s latest book will unlock some secret to success that everyone else in the history of the world has somehow missed … except for the person who wrote that book and presents that workshop.

If this were true, we would all be as rich as Croesus … of course, that sort of deflates the value of “Being Rich“, doesn’t it?

However, my gripe this morning is not about those who play on other’s desires.   Today I am asking a couple of simple questions about another aspect of this “Get Rich” mentality:

IS ONE OF YOUR LIFE GOALS REALLY TO “BE RICH“?

The people selling the secrets do so with the implicit assumption that getting rich is a goal of all.  I wonder if that is true.  

As an indicator of life success, money may not as universal as they would have you believe.   We are moved by many different forces or things in our lives.  

HOW WILL YOU KNOW WHEN YOU ARE NOW “RICH“?  

“Being rich” is a rather vague goal, much like “Being Happy“, which is equally vague, but often expressed as a desire or goal.  Goals without any way to measure attainment of those goals are simply wishful thinking.  

What would you use to measure whether you have actually reached that goal?

WHAT DOES “BEING RICH” MEAN TO YOU PERSONALLY?

Now we are at the core of my thoughts.  While another implicit assumption in all this is that rich equates to having more money, that is only one of many ways to find richness in your life.  

On an personal level, the answer to the question about what “Being Rich” means should vary as much as the people responding to the question. 

Just wondering aloud about all this as I delete multiple opportunities to become rich, famous, and more attractive in the Heartland ….

John

Note:  Today’s post inspiration was the simple act of going through my morning email messages, which also tells me that maybe I need to clean out my mailing list a bit.

Image:  Wikipedia entry on “Snake Oil”

 

