What is Modesty for a Language Nerd?


Sophia's Pockets

Since this month’s topic seems to have a lot of people stumped, we decided to have each member of our staff reflect on the question: What is Modesty?  Our Writing Intern, offered her perspective as Muslim woman. Today our Editor in Chief, Autumn Elizabeth discusses her take on modesty.

FullSizeRender (6)When I get stumped on a word I always turn to my friend the Oxford English Dictionary. According to this near-sacred text modesty is

Moderation, temperateness, self-control; freedom from excess or exaggeration; Decorum, propriety; scrupulous sobriety of thought, speech, conduct, etc.; natural avoidance of coarseness or lewdness.

This definition makes it hard for me to accept modesty as part of my spiritual journey. As a storyteller I live in a world of exaggeration, as an activist I believe in things like freedom and as a rebel, I cringe at the thought of self-control. But what if the OED has it wrong? What if the modesty we are talking about, a…

View original post 121 more words

