Becoming A Conscious Leader ~ Guest Post by David J. Greer


promo_03John:  I am busy absorbing David J. Greer’s new and fascinating book, which launches this week.  In this guest post, David displays his warm and engaging communication style, along with proving that he knows exactly what he is talking about.    Beyond his expertise, David is also a genuinely nice and collegial person.

Settle in for a real learning treat …

In John’s recent post The Curse of the Professional, he reminds us that there are so many things we do as leaders that are completely unconscious. In my new book Wind In Your Sails: Vital Strategies That Accelerate Your Entrepreneurial Success, I have an entire chapter dedicated to entrepreneurs and how they show up.

In my experience, the single biggest obstacle to the growth of a business is the entrepreneur. Until we spend time looking at ourselves, we are usually unconscious about the ways that we are holding back our own organizations. With my book, I hope to help entrepreneurs take a deeper look at themselves, and with the help of a few simple changes, show up differently.

Rhythm

Human beings work better with regular rhythms. As leaders, we often forget this. Do you exercise every day? At the same time? Are weekly management meetings held consistently at the same time? You must take an active role in finding and building the rhythm that works for you and your business. Everyone around you will fall into rhythm when you show the way.

 Recharge

I spent a recent weekend skiing with my wife Karalee, our daughter Jocelyn, and her fiancé Daniel. We had a fabulous day up at Whistler, BC, visiting on the two-hour drive there and back, taking on the slopes, and challenging each other to try some new runs. I need to make a focused effort to recharge myself, especially as I get ready to launch Wind In Your Sails. Find the things that recharge you. Then make the commitment to get out and do those things.

 Ideal Day

For years I had been unconsciously practicing my ideal day. Then I read about Jason Womack and his idea of an ideal day. Since then I have made a point of writing down the things that make an ideal day for me. I make sure that elements of my ideal day are put into every one of my days.

 Celebrate the Wins

As a high performing individual, I tend to dive into the next challenge. As do the people who work with me. I’ve learned that by starting my week by writing down the wins from my previous week I create positive psychology for myself. As Shawn Achor writes in The Happiness Advantage that increases success for me and those around me.

I started this post with John’s reminder that as leaders we are often unconscious about how we show up every day. If you want different results, you have to show up differently. In Wind In Your Sails, I write about being in rhythm, recharging, living your ideal day, celebrating the wins, and more ways on how you can show up differently to accelerate your growth.

 

Here’s some more information and a picture of David … you might have guessed his photo would have a water background:)

promo_01ABOUT DAVID GREER

David is the catalyst who gets you to fully live your dreams now. After time with him you feel equally scared and hopeful. Scared at the audacity of your dreams and hopeful because you have someone in your corner with the experience and desire to see your dreams become real.

Spend one hour reading his book, attend a one hour talk with him, or get one hour of 1-to-1 coaching and you will have 3 concrete action items that will shift and accelerate your business within 90 days.

David and his wife Karalee are committed to each other and their three children, spending time supporting them in the many and varied activities they are involved with. They live in Vancouver, Canada.

 

