“Curiouser and Curiouser” …


Lewis CarrollLewis Carroll (AKA Charles L. Dodgson) has some thoughts to share with us …

I know you probably think of Carroll as only an eccentric writer of off-beat and whimsical children’s tales from a time long past and remembered only now in sepia tones.  

Well, yeah, that is accurate  … but Carroll was actually also quite a leadership and personal development guru … you just have to read some of his lines carefully to get the messages.

So, in honor of Carroll’s birthday, let go of the children’s tales we probably all know and taste some solid leadership thinking from a guy who wrote children’s stories about 150 years ago, (right around our American Civil War):

FILLER SPACE

… Strategic Planning and Visioning:

“If you don’t know where you are going, any road will get you there.”

“Begin at the beginning and go on till you come to the end; then stop.
 “Curiouser and curiouser!” Cried Alice (she was so much surprised, that for the moment she quite forgot how to speak good English).”
FILLER SPACE 

… Personal and Professional Growth:

“I can’t go back to yesterday – because I was a different person then.

“She generally gave herself very good advice, (though she very seldom followed it).”

“One of the secrets of life is that all that is really worth the doing is what we do for others.”

… Communication Skills:

When I use a word,’ Humpty Dumpty said in rather a scornful tone, ‘it means just what I choose it to mean – neither more nor less.’

“Always speak the truth, think before you speak, and write it down afterwards.”
“His answer trickled through my head like water through a sieve.”
FILLER SPACE 
FILLER SPACE
Well, I hope I have convinced you of Carroll’s leadership wisdom with these samples.   Even if I have not, I hope you at least remember a young girl in a pinafore having a very large and curious adventure.
 FILLER SPACE
Getting a little nostalgic as I consider another trip down the rabbithole in the Heartland …
FILLER SPACE

John

FILLER SPACE

Quotations by Lewis Carroll courtesy of BrainyQuote.com 

Images via Wikipedia in the Public Domain 

