Just because you train it, doesn’t mean you can do it!


There is a difference between knowledge and application …

Real Learning, for a Change

I have just bought a new car.  50,000 miles sooner than I expected to, but that’s another story.

As we know, car dealerships are a wonderful place for Sleazy guy with sunglassesexercising your Negotiation muscles.  I tell people this all the time, and we practice car dealer role plays on my negotiation courses.  They know all the tricks in the book, and you never need to speak to these people again, so you can play all their games with impunity.

I need to clear the air.  Ahem.

I messed up. Blew it.  An exercise in how NOT to negotiate, in fact.

I’m fine, didn’t sell a kidney or my wife to get the car, and am looking forward to taking delivery on Friday.  But I blew it nonetheless, and am now going to tell you how so you can avoid this happening to you.

My self-critique boils down to 5 giant gaffes. Here goes:

View original post 741 more words

