Reading The Paper? …


 

Post DispatchI did something different yesterday …

For decades, since I was a young guy, reading a daily paper has been a habit in which I have delighted.

Sitting down with a new paper and a fresh cup of coffee was how I began my day.

I learned about world and local news, was challenged to think beyond my perceptions, and even enjoyed some great cartoon strips and word games over the year.

This was part of who I was and how I rolled.

Of course, eventually I entered the online world and over time, the daily paper became less of a delight and more of a distraction.

I got used to getting my news, my thinking challenges, and my entertainment from a screen, a website, or a constantly scrolling list of email messages.  We cancelled our daily paper subscription … no time and less inclination to seek out the tangible news of the day.

However, I found myself with a few minutes on my hands while waiting for my car repairs to be complete and, instead of pulling out my smart phone or powering up the iPad, I just picked up the St. Louis Post Dispatch, an old friend who I had been neglecting for some years now.

I found a blend of news from around the world and up the street, including some human interest articles which I missed with all my online news stream.  Many of my favorite comic strips were present to greet me and I found that, like old friends, catching up with the flow of events was quick, easy, and thoroughly enjoyable.

Leo HoroscopeFor whatever reasons, I choose to share my horoscope for yesterday, which waxes eloquently about my ability to wax eloquent, which may or may not be true.

I was rather disappointed when my sojourn was interrupted by the cashier who announced that I was ready to rejoin my world in progress.

… makes me wonder:

What else am I missing from times past?

Not the imagined better, simpler, and more peaceful times, because we tend to remember things as better than they were.

Not the lack of modern conveniences.  I like my slick, electronic doodads and distractions too much to go back to rotary dials and rabbit ears on the television, to say nothing of outdoor plumbing or cars that pour pollutants into the air.

I am thinking about rituals and practices that added pleasure and learning to my life on a daily basis …

What about you?   What did you used to do that brought you value and pleasure?

What stops you from doing it now?

Now what REALLY stops you from reclaiming your rituals and practices?

Having quite the time actually reading an actual paper in the Heartland ….

John

