Four Thoughts on a Green and Wet Day …


Green and Wet Day

Carl Jung recently challenged me, as he so often does … “What did you do as a child that made the hours pass like minutes?”             

He adds “Therein lies the key to your earthly pursuits.”

My initial reaction to the second line was “Yeah, right …” (intoned with a light veneer of grown-up sarcasm.  After all, most of the specific things I do now were not in existence when I was a child.  No Internet, no video games, darned little real variety on television, and not much to do on a small farm in Northeast Missouri.

Yes, sometimes I give in to nostalgia and wish I were back on the farm, where life was relatively simple and predictable, if also containing a fair amount of hard work in sometimes very uncomfortable environments (think heat, cold, wind, rain, and lack of sleep).  The adult me understands that we truly cannot go home again, that was then and this is now, and all the other trite but accurate things we say about things nostalgic.

So what’s left?  The stuff that transcends popular culture, the environment of the minute, and technology …

 After a little more thinking, here’s what I remember from then that still moves me now …

1)  I DREAM …

My favorite childhood memory:  Lying on the un-mown lawn of my grandmother’s house, just down the road, on a warm and breezy summer day, gazing up at the clouds, the birds, the treetops, and the occasional plane.  Sometimes thinking about the shapes or the sensations, but sometimes just letting my thoughts go wherever they would go.

I have not laid on that hallowed ground for many years, but I still like to stretch out, breath deep, and look up …

2) I LEARN …

I loved school as a young boy.  This may come as a shock to some of my teachers and to all the principals who knew me, but I still enjoy the thrill of learning a new thing.  Most of my adult life has been spent either as a student or a teacher/facilitator/coach, so learning environments are comfortable ground for me.

Curiosity is possibly the most valuable asset I possess …

3) I READ …

My earliest adult “friends” were the librarians in our small town.  They knew me well, guided me with a loving hand, and allowed me to experience the treasures of reading at levels beyond my chronological and psychological age.  I was exposed to that much richer world at an early age and have never stopped absorbing the written word.  

When I walk into a book store or a library, I am in Heaven …

4) I WRITE …

This one surprised me, because I tend to focus on my role as a consumer of written things, not as a creator.  However, the evidence is clear that through the years, I have found much pleasure in writing, whether the purpose has been to instruct, inform, entertain, or simply for my own enjoyment.

Whether I write for accuracy, entertainment, or engagement, I am happiest when my fingers are moving on the keyboard …

Well, that’s my best shot at how to respond to the challenge of Jung’s words. 

WHAT DID YOU DO AS A CHILD?  

WHAT ARE YOU STILL DOING?

WHY DOES IT MATTER?

Remembering past hot and sunny summer days on this wet and rainy day in the Heartland ….

John

One thought on “Four Thoughts on a Green and Wet Day …

Comments are closed.