A Love Note to Books on National Book Lovers Day …


Book Lover's Day 2014 PNG

As if we needed a special day to do this:) …

I am one of those Book People.  

I enjoy old titles that resonate with history and those brand new titles that almost vibrate with energy and new thoughts.  I like fiction and non-fiction, e-books, paperbacks, graphic novels, and dusty old library books.  I can read almost anywhere, except in bed (I tend to fall asleep).   Discovering a used or indie store comes close to Christmas for creating a sense of anticipation and enjoyment.  Walking into a public or campus library is pretty much like returning to my favorite college pub.

A cold or rainy day is perfect for reading, but any old day will do …

Books are portals through which we engage in several important human functions:

We dream about faraway places and fascinating people …

We learn about our world and ourselves …

We travel through time to the past and to the future …

We become inspired by how others have overcome …

We enjoy and share what we experience …

We experience the joy of discovery and wonder …

I have a rather tall stack of unread and need-to-be-revisited titles that haunt my every waking moment.  This gives me plenty of resources to make this a memorable holiday once again this year.

If you are not quite as fortunate, click the link below for some suggestions:  

10 Ways To Celebrate National Book Lovers Day | Zola Books.

Getting ready to spend an entire day doing what I have loved doing for my entire life ….

John

