Three Thoughts About Ordinary Days …


Writing It Down“The ordinary acts we practice every day at home are of more importance to the soul than their simplicity might suggest.”

Thomas Moore

On Saturday morning, I like to consider thoughts I have run across during the week.  Several deceptively simple messages occur to me on reading the above:

1) We are what we do … and what we do need not be complex or lofty.

2) Practice is essential … even when doing ordinary things that we do every day.

3) What we do in the privacy of our homes is important, maybe more so than what we do in public.

I have heard threads of the above in many places … the idea that simple things done well makes up a life well spent is not new.  However, I have not spent much time thinking about the implications up to now.   Too busy doing to be busy thinking, I suppose.

After some consideration, here is what I determined, with no claims about the quality involved, just the presence of these things in my daily life: 

I write, sometimes in depth and sometimes in passing, about whatever catches my attention, but I do this in some fashion every day. 

…. I like to express myself with words.

I think about connections, causes, and anomalies in business and in human relationships.  I consider perspectives and analyze behaviors. 

… I like to understand beyond the obvious or apparent.

I connect people, ideas, and tools through sharing what I run across, either online or in person. 

… I like to help others learn and understand.

I combine images and words to convey meaning and perspective about leadership behavior and human relationships.

… I like to create and communicate my ideas and perceptions. 

On reflection, this list of what I do every blessed day tells me some useful things about myself.  It was a good exercise.

So the weekend reflection questions for you are:

What do YOU do ordinarily … every day at home?

What do these things tell YOU about yourself?

Wondering why I never thought about doing this before in the Heartland ….

John

 

 

 

