Echoing a Great Idea …


imageI don’t remember where I saw this … probably on Facebook.  I apologize for posting without attribution.

 

It strikes that someone will soon point out that so far I am doing exactly what this message says to not do … echoing someone else’s thought. Good point …

In our social and online world, it seems that people are now equipped to engage in “Me Too” behavior all day and all night.  You can “like” something, “retweet” or “share” it to reinforce that you like it, click in a box which keeps score of how many others have also indicated their approval … the options are limited only by how you choose to engage online.

I wonder sometimes if our social actions simply reenact what Shakespeare reminded us of long ago:

“Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player

That struts and frets his hour upon the stage

And then is heard no more. It is a tale

Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,

Signifying nothing.”

(From MacBeth, Act 5, Scene 5, page 2)

Is all this posting and reposting just “sound and fury”?  I say “Nope”, in my best Shakespearean voice…

We find value in things for various reasons.  Here are some obvious ones:

We find wisdom in a particular quotation or a story …

We are motivated to positive action by an image …

We just enjoy the videos of cats and kids being cats and kids …

At this point, I would add that those who share hurtful or negative things might do a little soul-searching about their motives.   I do not mind a well-reasoned post or statement with which I do not agree, but too often we are just arguing online, not discussing.

We err when we mindlessly repeat or share something, especially when the value of that something is not immediately oblivious.  Sharing should include adding our own thoughts in response and in addition to what we are sharing.

We learn something when we notice something enough to share it … if we take the time to think about WHY we want to share this thing.   Sharing should be action with reason. 

As the positive value of that reason increases, so does the value of the sharing … but I do believe that the best sharing is that which includes our own contribution.

The important questions: 

Did I add any value to the image I shared?

How will you approach sharing things of value?

How does each person show the value of a thing for them?

Revising my approach to sharing online in the Heartland ….


John

 

