About That Horse’s Mouth …


Horse's Mouth“I got it straight from the horse’s mouth.”

“That’s the real dope.”

“I heard it from a credible source.”

“Well, he/she ought to know, right?”

How often have you heard one of these?

How often have you said this or something similar?

We seem to feel a need to legitimize some thoughts or observations, by establishing a direct connection with someone who we feel has credibility or authority.

Highly-placed sources … it’s even better when they are confidential and highly-placed.

Inside information … this always sounds slightly sleazy to me.

A Head’s-Up … warning without counsel is not all that much help.

The Scoop … it’s not about being first, it’s about being accurate.

I don’t know about you, but I do not always have a source, credible or otherwise, to support something I believe.   Sometimes I just sense what I am called to say and do.

What do you say when you just feel that something is very right … or very wrong?

How do you establish credibility when you have no “Higher Source” or the horse’s mouth just whinnies?

How do you state your position to justify your own beliefs?

Trying to justify my actions all by my lonesome in the Heartland ….

John

Comments are closed.