Not Putting Off That Call …


Make The Call”Make the call you’ve been putting off.”

Oh, great … I wake up to what I do not want to hear from Box of Crayons, whose daily Great Work Provocations are always action-oriented and hit close to  my procrastinating heart.

Of course, I hate them …

Take the one above, which hit my mailbox this morning, bright and way too early:

Specific…

I know exactly what I am being “encouraged” to do.  No room to quibble or quarrel.  The task is simple, clear, and stated in action terms.

Hard to misunderstand …

Measurable…

I can easily tell when I have done this. In this case, the task is an “Either/Or”.  Tonight I will have made the call or not … no partial completion allowed.  I’ll bet I cannot get away with “I left a message …” either.

Easy to tell when the task is done …

Attainable …

Reasonable cost, within my scope of authority, and I have learned the skills to do this.  I see nothing that can possible stand in my way other than a total blackout of cellphone service in the Heartland.

I have the tools and the knowledge to do this …

Realistic …

I’m awake, the need exists, I already know that the task is within my personal skill set. Again, nothing comes out that makes this unrealistic as a task.

I even have prior positive experience …

Time-Oriented …

Notice the lack of phrases  such as “Consider …”, “Think about …”, “Report on feasibility of …”, or my personal vague favorite “Let me get back to you on this …”

Hmmm …. without using the word “today”, this message certainly conveys the sense that the time to do this is right now.

I feel a sense of urgency about completing this task …

Bottom Line …

    Michael Bungay Stanier is one SMART guy …

    Great Work Provocations are a daily motivation …

    I have a telephone call to make …

Lord knows why, but if you would like this kind of daily aggravation cluttering up your work space and getting in the way of good, honest procrastination and distraction, just sign right up at Great Work Provocations.

Dialing the damn number on the damn telephone in the Heartland ….

John

One thought on “Not Putting Off That Call …

Comments are closed.