From Here To There … And NOT Ever Back Again


Rosa Parks MontageOne bus ticket in Montgomery, Alabama circa 1955 …  Cost $.50

One disorderly conduct citation … Cost $10.00 plus $4.00 court costs

One Presidential Medal of Freedom … Priceless

I know various viewpoints exist about the motivations for Rosa Park’s actions that December evening over fifty-eight years ago.   Other people had done and would do the same thing that Parks did, but none gained the attention as she would.  

“I did not want to be mistreated, I did not want to be deprived of a seat that I had paid for. It was just time… there was opportunity for me to take a stand to express the way I felt about being treated in that manner. I had not planned to get arrested. I had plenty to do without having to end up in jail. But when I had to face that decision, I didn’t hesitate to do so because I felt that we had endured that too long. The more we gave in, the more we complied with that kind of treatment, the more oppressive it became.”

~ NPR Interview of Rosa Parks by Lynn Neary in 1992

Controversy swirls around whether this was a simple act of resistance on the part of an oppressed person who had just had enough or whether this was  a calculated move during a very long game of chess between various factions during the Civil Rights Movement.

Whatever … I’ll let others debate those issues.

Her money was the same as anyone else’s.   Her right to a seat she already occupied on public transportation should not be in question.  

This type of behavior, legal then or not, was wrong then and is wrong now.

… And I hope we are moving further and further away from it every day.  

Thanks to Rosa Parks for whatever role she played in ending this type of overt and repulsive discrimination.

Reflecting on what comes of simple acts of civil disobedience and resistance to “the way things are” in the Heartland ….

John

