What The Heck Happened …?


Mud and SnowWhen do we lose our ability to ignore dirt and discomfort?

As a child and a young person, weather was fascinating to me and I enjoyed being out in it, regardless of temperature, force, or destruction.   

I have distinct memories of scampering around the woodlands of  our farm in the “dead of winter”, as they say.   I don’t recall being particularly bothered by the temperature, the wind, or the snow.  Snow fascinated me … its consistency, its pliability, its taste … I could not get enough of the white stuff.

I remember being terribly disappointed when I was forced by time or parental directive to go back inside, even when my clothes were wet from sloshing through some half-frozen stream or “skating” on one of our stock ponds.

Rain was something to absorb, and not something to avoid.  Standing on a small hill as a roaring thunderstorm filled the sky was a trip.   Soaked clothing did not matter, slippery slopes were a challenge, and mud was simply a heaven-sent joy to feel and handle.

Now I bundle up, zip up, and stay in … I’m much more comfortable, but something is wrong.

I sort of miss those days …

Staying warm and dry, but letting it bug me in the Heartland ….

John

2 thoughts on “What The Heck Happened …?

  1. Hi, Simon – thanks for the reblog.

    It’s amazing how often we can happily revert to a less frenetic stage, isn’t it? I have done workshops where I just handed out crayons or paint and paper to adults and stood back as they got messy and happy:).

    John

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on Simon Hamer and commented:
    I’ve been mucking out with a friend today building a shelter for his egg laying birds. I thought I’d hate the muck, but I soon forgot about it, and the only thing that reminded me I was due elsewhere was a raving hunger. A bumped head, but still a fun three hours wading in mud.

    Like

Comments are closed.