Silence is Golden, Right?


Either I am taking the theme for today seriously or I am just being lazy … either way, here are some very thought-provoking observations around silence for your midweek reflection. 

Which one speaks most directly to you?

Silence doesn’t indicate wisdom.  Knowing when to remain silent does.”  

(Author unknown- attributed to Good Health magazine)

“It is better to remain silent at the risk of being thought a fool, than to talk and remove all doubt of it.”

(Maurice Switzer)

“Silence does not always mark wisdom.”  

(Samuel Taylor Coleridge)

“Speak only if it improves upon the silence.”  

(Mahatma Gandhi)

“I don’t think…” then you shouldn’t talk, said the Hatter.”

 (Lewis CarrollAlice in Wonderland)

Keeping my own mouth firmly shut and enjoying the silence in the Heartland ….

John

2 thoughts on “Silence is Golden, Right?

  1. Hi, Dale – thanks for your response.

    First, I cannot imagine the silence NOT being improved by your speaking:).

    You are right on target with your observation that we learn the value of not always talking as we gain life experience. I know as a young leader, I thought I always had to be the one doing the talking. Now, I am very content to sit back and make more valuable contributions much less often.

    … and as you also note, sometimes you are better off just not saying anything … I think I finally learned that during 30+ years of marriage:)

    Have a fantastic rest of the week!

    John

    Like

  2. The best of the quotes you’ve shared is. “Speak only if it improves upon the silence,” by Mahatma Gandhi. Early in life, they say, “think before you speak.” At that time, we don’t entirely understand or practice that concept. But, over time, as age advances, one’s wisdom is further enriched, and one becomes more aware of when to bite one’s tongue.

    Hopefully, this comment is one example of ‘speaking’ to improve upon the silence.

    Like

Comments are closed.